mentoring

Sent: Sunday, February 14, 2016 at 3:53 PM
Subject: mentoring

MENTORING

by MsPeachieRocks almost 2 years ago

Who can/should be a mentor?

Someone who understands the elements of whatever fetish you are wanting to learn and the role you would be fulfilling or wanting to fulfill in that fetish.

I’ll use me as an example to make my point. I’m a female dominant so I would seek a female dominant to teach me what I wanted to learn, most likely.
Or someone who had mad skills I wanted to grow in. If I couldn’t find a female dominant, my second choice would probably be a male switch who is used to topping. Or topping from the bottom.

Someone who has actively pursued that role and that fetish should be the mentor.

Why would someone want a mentor?

Because they want to learn new skills or refresh old skills they haven’t used in a while.

Are there things that go outside of just a sex act that may actually need

Yes, if you want to learn a new tool or some of the high protocol roles. Something where you can’t just bluster your way thru. Or if you want to switch roles in your fetish, go from sub to dom for example.

An example would be putting a Japanese or English tea service together. From what little I have experienced of these things, I know it takes serious years of practice to get it right. It takes more than common sense.
Or claiming to have the skills of a somalier (wine expert) or chef with no training. It just can’t be done.

I’m fascinated by rigging and other rope styles like Japaneses traditions, but I don’t claim to be an expert by any means. I would never put on a demo without getting serious mentoring first. I have a very good knack for getting out of ties that boggle some people’s minds. But I’m not an escape artist. (not professionally anyway 😉 )

I hope that answered some of your questions about mentoring. Ask questions and search like you are hiring for a job for your mentor. And make them prove their skill before you align their name and yours.

Leave a Reply

